Teacher of the Year Program


Montrose Education Foundation Teacher of the Year Announcement

The Montrose Education Foundation, Inc. hosted a breakfast for the Teacher of the Year nominees on March 24, 2015.

Fifty-two teachers were nominated this year and were introduced during the American Education Week Reception which was held on November 20, 2014.  Twenty-six outstanding educators completed the Candidate Questionnaire and were eligible for consideration.

Congratulations to the following recipients:

  • Elementary – Jody Hovde, Pomona Elementary Academic Coach.  “Jody champions her school’s students and colleagues daily, taking personal responsibility for Pomona’s performance and outcomes.”
  • Middle – Meghan Waschbusch, Centennial Middle Seventh Grade Science Teacher.  “Megan tries to make things as fun as possible while we learn as much as we can.  She is a perfect mix of sternness and joyfulness.”
  • High – Erin Martinez, Olathe High Agricultural Teacher & FFA Advisor.  “Erin is a truly dedicated teacher.  She puts all of her time and energy into her classes and program.  There is nothing Erin wouldn’t do to help her students be successful.”

Thank you to Alpine Bank for the $500.00 check provided to each recipient for use in their classroom.

For more information, contact:

Teacher of the Year – Deann Balash
Montrose Educational Foundation
930 Colorado Avenue
Montrose, Colorado  81401


Teacher of the Year Award Recipients